Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Support Forum

Welcome! Support Forums have been reactivated
Welcome the Technical Support section. Help us in assisting you by providing us with a concise and descriptive elaboration of your issues. Be specific and if possible, provide us with a step-by-step instruction in replicating your problem.

Accessibility for Birthday settings

10 years 1 month ago
    Topic Author
  • Philip
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Licenses:
JomSocial Active Socialize Expired

I'm a blind webmaster/user. I am using Joomla 3.2.3 with JomSocial 3.1.1 and PHP 5.4.26.
I've been having a problem with the dropdowns/modal window that is used to set the birthday in the profile. With my screenreader, it's not visible. My wife - who is sighted - can see it fine, but my screenreader doesn't read it to me. Basically, the problem is that modal windows don't get "focus" with screenreaders.
Is there a way to fix this without using pop-ups or modals - neither of which are accessible? If it's not accessible in the birhday field, will it be accessible in the event fields? (I haven't gotten into that section yet).

10 years 1 month ago
  • Dimas Tekad Santosa
  • Visitor
Licenses:

Hi Philip,

I cant access your website, it shows 403 error, can you make sure your website is running well?

Also can you provide me the screenshoot of your error, please?

thank you

10 years 1 month ago
    Topic Author
  • Philip
  • Fresh Boarder
Licenses:

Dimas,
thanks for the reply.
There isn't, technically, an error - it's the simple fact that the date window/modal is not accessible to the blind via a screenreader.
I forgot that I had the site set to US users only in the security, I've changed that so you should be able to log in now.
As I said, it's not an error - no error messages, etc. it's just that a blind person using a screen reader can't access the date block. The same is true of the media block on the video/audio section.

Thanks again,
Flip