If we buy the STANDARD version of JomSocial to use as the base/platform for a development project,
then we customize the code as per our project,
then we update to PROFESSIONAL version,
will our changes be overwritten (need a merge) OR does the update to PRO simply release disabled features?
Our decision on which version to buy and use in prototyping relies on this knowledge.
As long as you upgrade on the same version your code will be safe, you should do some little trick to update to professional version... we will help you with this one.
But the problem is if you wanna upgrade to the latest version, you should hire the 3rd party to make sure your code safe.
Since we will be employing JomSocial as a development platform alas we will not be able to enjoy updates.
So Im just happy to know there is a solution for upgrading from STANDARD to PROFESSIONAL, it helps to minimize our POC and prototype costs.