Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Support Forum

Welcome! Support Forums have been reactivated
Welcome the Technical Support section. Help us in assisting you by providing us with a concise and descriptive elaboration of your issues. Be specific and if possible, provide us with a step-by-step instruction in replicating your problem.

No logout message displayed with the jomsocial_redirect plugin

1 year 10 months ago
  • Peter's Avatar
    Topic Author
  • Peter
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 1
Licenses:
JomSocial Active

Hello everyone,

I found a bug (kind of) in the jomsocial_redirect plugin.
If you select "Show redirect logout message" and provide a text for said message in the "Redirect logout message" field in the plugin backend, it does not work as advertised.
Instead of the message being displayed in the system message box upon logout, no message is displayed instead.

I did some digging around already, and the issue seems to be related to recent changes in the plugin.
In new versions, JFactory::getApplication()->getSession()->destroy() is called upon logout.
According to stackoverflow.com/questions/21980142/joomla-logout-with-message , destroying the session will clear the message queue and the redirect message being set by
$mainframe->redirect($link, JText::_($this->params->get('redirect_logout_msg', 'YOU_HAVE_LOGGED_OUT')), 'message');
is not being displayed.

Please investigate this and either fix the behaviour, if possible, or remove the feature to prevent confusion.
Sincerely Yours,
Peter

1 year 10 months ago
Licenses:

HI, Peter.

Thank you for contacting us.
I'll pass this to our developer to investigate this further.
I'll be back to you at Monday.


- Instead of saying: 'it's not working', explain the problem in detail.
- Screenshots with the URL visible in them and the problem marked are more than welcome.
- Tell us how to replicate the problem, we can't fix it if we can't find it.
- Make sure that your site/server meets JomSocial System Requirements
- Make sure to setup JomSocial Cron Job
- Always provide us with access details to the backend and ftp. We need it to debug problems.
- If you have a similar problem, but a solution you found isn't working, open a new thread instead of 'merging' with an existing one.

- Use the "Thank You" feature on any post that helped you
1 year 9 months ago
Licenses:

HI, Peter.

Make safe copy of this file:

ROOT/plugins/system/jomsocialredirect/jomsocialredirect.php

Then remove line 118:

JFactory::getApplication()->getSession()->destroy();


- Instead of saying: 'it's not working', explain the problem in detail.
- Screenshots with the URL visible in them and the problem marked are more than welcome.
- Tell us how to replicate the problem, we can't fix it if we can't find it.
- Make sure that your site/server meets JomSocial System Requirements
- Make sure to setup JomSocial Cron Job
- Always provide us with access details to the backend and ftp. We need it to debug problems.
- If you have a similar problem, but a solution you found isn't working, open a new thread instead of 'merging' with an existing one.

- Use the "Thank You" feature on any post that helped you
1 year 9 months ago
  • Peter's Avatar
    Topic Author
  • Peter
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 1
Licenses:
JomSocial Active

Hi Michal,
Removing line 118 does not fix the issue.
Can you reproduce the error on your side or is it specific to our setup?

1 year 9 months ago
Licenses:

HI, Peter.

Ticket is back to developer.
I'll update you ASAP.


- Instead of saying: 'it's not working', explain the problem in detail.
- Screenshots with the URL visible in them and the problem marked are more than welcome.
- Tell us how to replicate the problem, we can't fix it if we can't find it.
- Make sure that your site/server meets JomSocial System Requirements
- Make sure to setup JomSocial Cron Job
- Always provide us with access details to the backend and ftp. We need it to debug problems.
- If you have a similar problem, but a solution you found isn't working, open a new thread instead of 'merging' with an existing one.

- Use the "Thank You" feature on any post that helped you
1 year 9 months ago
Licenses:

Hi, Peter.

Please:

1. Edit your first post.
2. Click switch below main text field: prntscr.com/fk3hdg
3. Provide your site details: backend URL, admin credentials and FTP: prntscr.com/fk3hwz
4. Let us know that you provided credentials by posting in the same thread.


- Instead of saying: 'it's not working', explain the problem in detail.
- Screenshots with the URL visible in them and the problem marked are more than welcome.
- Tell us how to replicate the problem, we can't fix it if we can't find it.
- Make sure that your site/server meets JomSocial System Requirements
- Make sure to setup JomSocial Cron Job
- Always provide us with access details to the backend and ftp. We need it to debug problems.
- If you have a similar problem, but a solution you found isn't working, open a new thread instead of 'merging' with an existing one.

- Use the "Thank You" feature on any post that helped you
1 year 9 months ago
  • Peter's Avatar
    Topic Author
  • Peter
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 1
Licenses:
JomSocial Active

Sorry, but I can not do that.
As you might have read in our other support requests, we cannot provide you with access to our systems due to data protection legislation.
I guess that means you can not reproduce the error on your systems then?

1 year 9 months ago
Licenses:

HI, Peter.

I can on mine.. so let's wait...
Currently our developer is on holidays... so this may take a while.
But it's on our pending list and I'll share mine FTP with our developer.
Then update you with results.


- Instead of saying: 'it's not working', explain the problem in detail.
- Screenshots with the URL visible in them and the problem marked are more than welcome.
- Tell us how to replicate the problem, we can't fix it if we can't find it.
- Make sure that your site/server meets JomSocial System Requirements
- Make sure to setup JomSocial Cron Job
- Always provide us with access details to the backend and ftp. We need it to debug problems.
- If you have a similar problem, but a solution you found isn't working, open a new thread instead of 'merging' with an existing one.

- Use the "Thank You" feature on any post that helped you
1 year 9 months ago
Licenses:

HI.

This feature was deprecated in latest version as it can't be called in latest version of Joomla!.


- Instead of saying: 'it's not working', explain the problem in detail.
- Screenshots with the URL visible in them and the problem marked are more than welcome.
- Tell us how to replicate the problem, we can't fix it if we can't find it.
- Make sure that your site/server meets JomSocial System Requirements
- Make sure to setup JomSocial Cron Job
- Always provide us with access details to the backend and ftp. We need it to debug problems.
- If you have a similar problem, but a solution you found isn't working, open a new thread instead of 'merging' with an existing one.

- Use the "Thank You" feature on any post that helped you
1 year 8 months ago
  • Peter's Avatar
    Topic Author
  • Peter
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 1
Licenses:
JomSocial Active

Hi Michał,

We will simply have to make do without this feature in the future then.
Thank you anyways for looking into the issue.

Sincerely Yours,
Peter

Moderators: Piotr Garasiński
Powered by Kunena Forum

Join 180,000 websites creating Amazing communities

JomSocial is the most complete, easy-to-use addon that turns Joomla CMS into a
full -fledged, social networking site

TRY NOW BUY NOW